CC.2 Week six, anti-doxxing and intimate partner privacy

• Have you encountered these threat models before? (only share what you’re comfortable with)
  • Have you tried removing your own information from data brokers?
  • What comes up when you search for yourself?
  • How could you offer programming or resources for these threat models?
  • What challenges do you see in meeting the needs of these threat models?

I wanted to add some comments about the institutional side of things since that’s been a big part of my focus working on the anti-doxxing toolkit. I’m new to this work but I have worked at a university for several years, so I’ve been thinking a lot about some of the sort of language/strategy that might be important in the context of developing policy, grants, etc, framing it in terms of public scholarship and equity and so on.

I also wanted to highlight Reanna’s article again:

In particular I think the point where she references Toni Morrison identifying racism as a distraction is a super useful way of looking at this issue, and I keep wondering about ways of re-centering the important work of people who are targeted (instead of giving harassers any airtime, or forcing people to waste time rebuilding their reputations).

A couple other links:
Dr. Alex Ketchum wrote a report on the state of things at Canadian universities re: support for public scholarshop, doxxing:

https://www.mcgill.ca/igsf/channels/news/report-state-resources-provided-support-scholars-against-harassment-trolling-and-doxxing-while-doing-323366

https://publicscholarshipandmediawork.blogspot.com/p/report.html

And Elvia Arroyo-Ramirez has also written about her experience:

Generally institutions are poorly prepared for handling the implications of “public scholarship” or Knowledge Mobilization and while some of their desire to do DEI stuff, engage the public, etc, is ethics-washing that will not ever turn into material support, I think we can still gain some ground…

1 Like