Week 22 - free / libre / open source software

My library uses Pika as its discover layer. Pika indexes our collection via Solr. The non-“catalog” parts our website are built with Drupal. Our events calendar is Bedework. Of those platforms, Bedework has been the most hassle, mostly because its development has not kept pace with our needs. Our head systems librarian helps with the development of Pika.

I’m a free software enthusiast. I use the term “free software” for the ideological reasons Vicky described but if talking to a larger audience I will use the term FOSS or FLOSS to avoid confusion. I strive to be an advocate for free software in libraries. If one goal of libraries is to share information to help communities, rarely is such a goal better embodied than open source software. When I was in public services I used free software everyday to be creative: GIMP, Inkscape, Audacity, and even video editing. Though I am not a coder, my knowledge of Git and GNU/Linux was probably the one thing most responsible for me transitioning to NPL’s systems team. Once on the systems team, I was very disappointed to learn the SIP2 protocol is not open source. I would not have learned Git with the spurring of Nashville technologist / troublemaker Amber Adams. Thank you, Amber.

On the home front, my partner and I have used GNU/Linux exclusively for 10+ years and it’s been great. I’ve eaten a lot of free software dogfood over the years, but the biggest biscuit I’m nibbling on right now is using an Android phone with no Google apps. that’ means no Play Store. The only thing I miss is Twitter which I was not super active on but I used it as a newsfeed. This the one choice I have made about privacy / software freedom that really changes the way I interact with technology compared with most folks.

Rando stuff: